News

Nagging warning will plague iPhone owners who do the unthinkable

Before we get started

After spending over 20 years working with Macs, both old and new, theres a tool I think would be useful to every Mac owner who is experiencing performance issues.

CleanMyMac is highest rated all-round cleaning app for the Mac, it can quickly diagnose and solve a whole plethora of common (but sometimes tedious to fix) issues at the click of a button. It also just happens to resolve many of the issues covered in the speed up section of this site, so Download CleanMyMac to get your Mac back up to speed today.

mac-pc

As most readers already know, Apple released its iPhone 11 range recently. It subsequently also released iOS 13, and it’s this operating system that will soon start reminding iPhone 11 owners who dare to replace their device’s screen with a non-Apple display with a persistent warning.

It reads like this: “Unable to verify this iPhone has a genuine Apple display.” This is very similar to a warning regarding battery health that Apple introduced for the iPhone XS, XS Max and XR a few months ago.

At the time, the company claimed that the only reason for this was to ensure that the batteries in those iPhones were safe. As far as screens are concerned, Apple pointed out that unofficial replacements could negatively impact on multi-touch performance.

The company warned that replacing your iPhone’s screen with a third-party product might cause it to stop registering your touch, or even worse to respond to those irksome unintentional touches that happen to all of us.



Other woes that might befall you without a genuine Apple screen include problems with screen brightness, the phone’s battery life being drained more rapidly, and the screen showing the wrong colours.

According to the Cupertino-based firm, the warning that will be displayed will not otherwise negatively affect your ability to use the device or its screen. The warning message will, however, be displayed on the lock screen for four long days.

In the Settings app, things will get worse: here, you will have to live with the notification for 15 days. After that, owners will still be able to find it by visiting Settings, General, About.

This, of course, means that if you try to sell your iPhone and the prospective buyer scrolls through the settings, they are likely to see that you committed the ultimate sin: replacing an Apple screen with a third-party display.

Tags

About the author

Chris

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.